The Obscure Label

From: (Daniel M. Dumych)
Subject: Brian Eno and the Obscure Label
In 1975, Brian Eno set up the Obscure Label. Its purpose was to provide a venue for experimental music, and make it more known and accessible to the public at large. By associating his name with it, and acting as producer of all ten releases, he enabled hitherto virtually unknown composers to enjoy a larger possible audience. Among those who he rescued from obscurity (pun intended) were Harold Budd, Michael Nyman, the Penguin Cafe Orchestra, and Gavin Bryars.

Obscure No.1
Gavin Bryars, "The Sinking of the Titanic", 1975.
Obscure No.2
Christopher Hobbs, John Adams, and Gavin Bryars, "Ensemble 
Pieces", 1975.  (some vocals by Eno)
Obscure No.3
Brian Eno, "Discreet Music", 1975.
Obscure No.4
David Toop and Max Eastley, "New and Rediscovered Musical 
Instruments", 1975.
Obscure No.5
Jan Steele and John Cage, "Voices and Instruments', 1976.
Obscure No.6
Michael Nyman, "Decay Music", 1976.
Obscure No.7
Penguin Cafe Orchestra, "Music from the Penguin Cafe", 1976.
Obscure No.8
John White and Gavin Bryars, "Machine Music", 1978.  (bottle 
and electric guitars by Eno)
Obscure No.9
Tom Phillips, Gavin Bryars and Fred Orton, "Irma - An Opera", 
Obscure No.10
Harold Budd, "The Pavillion of Dreams", 1978.     

[Eno icon] Back to silence, back to nothing